What Do We Do All Day?

This winter has been unique, not just because we moved to a new house in the middle of Nowhere BC.  We have other unique circumstances this season.  Darryl was laid off his construction job at the end of November and we’ve been living off EI since then.  He’s applied at the mine and the mills in town and had a couple of interviews and medical tests by one of the mills, but they may not tell him if he gets the job for up to several months!  Despite that, our winter has been awesome!  We love having Darryl home with us, and we’ve grown so much closer as a family.  God had been teaching us things that used to be such a mystery to us, and He’s opening our eyes to what we’ve been missing.  We are so grateful for His Word and for His amazing provision for us!

This new lifestyle agrees with us so much more than when we lived in the big city.  Our neighbours are becoming friends, we have TIME to do the things we love doing, and those things don’t usually require a lot of money.  We only need one vehicle at this point, and though we think a truck would still suit us better for getting hay and firewood, how else would we get to know the neighbours?

I find myself having a fuller social life than I did living in the city.  I play badminton at the hall across the lake once a week, attend a mom’s group at church, a home group at a friend’s house, and now started attending a ladies bible study just down the street.  There’s also a kids play group at the hall once a week, but I don’t usually go to that.  Those are just the regular functions.  I go riding with neighbours once in a while, and chat with the librarian when I return my books.

When I’m not out socializing, I can be found sitting by the fire…

CCgoR

…improving my domestic skillz…

jmeJv

…drinking earl grey (caffeinated or decaffeinated, depending on the time of day.  I’m not addicted to caffeine)…

qgJh2

…playing with the kids…

xhDcZ

…reading to the kids (a major part of Sadie’s schooling)…

W42br

…curating the art wall…

T1vs3

…honing my craft…

Re3YR

…taking goofy shots of the kids…

zPNz3

…and self portraits (see the reflection in the eye.  No, I don’t think I look like a horse)…

0W1rr

…and of course, making food…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and cleaning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yep, that’s about it!  I wouldn’t change a thing.

Except the cooking and cleaning part.

3 thoughts on “What Do We Do All Day?”

  1. Wow, that’s a lot of scheduled activities! Good for you. I love my ladies Bible study. It’s a huge blessing and a great way to become closer to other women in the church.

  2. Miss my BFF. Glad all is well, though. BTW, round number 2 with sourdough bread… Last week was a total bust so hopefully tomorrow is good. Where r u when I need u? Thanks for your blogs. Shirl

    >

    1. You mean REAL sourdough? With starter? How come it didn’t work? I haven’t made it cause my track record with keeping starters alive isn’t so great. The artisan bread recipe I use is supposed to be refrigerated, but I often leave it out overnight when I make it to sour up a bit. Seems to work, kinda. I love using this recipe though. It’s the easiest bread to make, with hardly any cleanup or mess. Great to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

