Healthy Ice Cream!

I do love owning a cow.

There are so many perks.

Even on the cold, dark, evening milking shift, when she flings poop in my face with her tail or kicks the bucket over, I can trudge inside and chow down on the best fresh ANYTHING milk-related.  Take that, COW!

Just kidding.

But seriously, it makes the not-that-bad, 15 minute chore of milking seem like the best thing in the world when you have the best fresh milk, butter, sour cream, yogurt, and ICE CREAM that you can’t buy in the store, anytime you want it!

Makes me think I have it better than the most well-to-do people anywhere.  I’ll bet 99.9% of them don’t eat food this good.  I don’t even think the president gets his milk fresh from the cow or dairy products that aren’t full of chemicals his government approved of (but that’s a whole other topic).

All I’m saying is, I am blessed to have a cow.

And to eat the most amazing, HEALTHY ice cream whenever I want to!

Now, I realize most of you don’t have access to raw milk or cream, but I have to share this recipe because if you ever do get it, you will need this recipe!

No, it’s not mine.  I got it from the Paths Of Wrighteousness blog here.

But I’m going to show you how I made some yesterday.

You may recall Darryl and I bought an ice cream maker for our Christmas present.  It’s a Cuisinart 1.5 quart model.  I would have preferred one with more capacity but this one was highly recommended and on sale for less than a third the price of the bigger ones.  I think we paid about $60.

You don’t have to have an ice cream maker, but it helps a lot.  I have an older, manual, non-electric one I will sell you cheap.  Clean and works great.

So here it is.

4 ingredients.  3 1/2 cups raw cream, 1/2 cup raw honey, 3 egg yolks (from pastured hens), 1 tsp vanilla.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Right off the bat, I will tell you the version I made is not QUITE healthy.  I used Costco honey and I don’t think it’s the best kind.  It’s not local and I’ve read they add cheap syrups sometimes and don’t have to label it.  One day I will have bees.  Until then, we buy this cause it’s cheap.  I could buy local honey, but I put that money towards grass fed meat instead, since we can get so much better nutrition from it and eat it more often.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But at least it’s unpasteurized!  And from somewhere in Canada.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ok, another cardinal sin…

I used mexican vanilla.  It has corn syrup in it, of all things.  But I was all out of vodka so I couldn’t make another batch of vanilla and had to settle for this.  Don’t be like me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that that’s taken care of, we can start.

With this ice cream maker, you need to get all your ingredients ready ahead of time because the bowl is frozen and once you take it out of the freezer, it starts to thaw.  You do have time to make one (possibly 2) batches before it gets too warm though.

Turn it on and add all your ingredients.  After I dumped in the eggs, I realized I forgot to beat them first.  Again, don’t be like me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The honey.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did poke a spatula in there and found the egg yolks to break them up a bit.  There’s a few yellow flecks.  No biggie.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This ice cream maker turns the bowl, while the paddles and cover are stationary.  Notice the level of the ice cream inside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When it’s done, it fills the bowl to the top!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I was researching ice cream makers, I watched a little TV show clip about them, and they said the best ice cream was about 25% air.  I think this model makes it pretty close to that.

Then you have to scrape all the ice cream into a separate container for the freezer (or into your bowl).

It’s SUPPOSED to chill for an hour or 2, but that’s really hard to do.

I don’t know why anyone would want to.  It’s so good the way it is!

Right Chad?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, I did put most of it in the freezer.  I have to stock up for a party.

This recipe isn’t like most ice cream recipes that get you to heat it up first and make a custard.  This one’s all raw.  And so easy.  And so udderly delicious I don’t think I would bother with the other recipes.

This is one I can feel good about giving to my kids!

PS. I’m guessing you could use store-bought cream for this and it would work fine, you just wouldn’t have the benefit of the enzymes and nutrients and healthy fat in raw cream.  Oh, and if you’re lactose intolerant, please stick with raw cream.

PSS. Check out my Dairy Board on Pinterest for more recipes using raw milk or cream.

PSSS. On the same blog as the ice cream recipe, in case you didn’t actually read it, there’s another recipe for healthy chocolate syrup you can use to make chocolate milk, or to pour over ice cream.  It’s delicious too.

4 thoughts on “Healthy Ice Cream!”

Leave a Reply

