My 2012 Christmas Tree

Better late than never, right?

Normally we host an annual tree hunt in early December where we go with friends up to the bush and cut down our trees and have a fire and whatnot.  This year though, we decided to get our tree from a tree farm, just for something different.  We went to a farm in Summerland on a windy, snowless day.  December 1st, I think.  We picked the nicest tree in the whole lot and cut it down ourselves.  The nice lady took pictures.

It was quick and easy and kinda fun, but not quite as satisfying as getting a tree from the bush, and it cost a lot, but whatever.  It’s a NICE tree, and fresh, and we supported a local farmer.

Massey6

Our trees aren’t usually quite this full, so I had to make a quick trip to Canadian Tire to pick up more lights (and a few more cute ornaments that were on sale).  Actually, we had to DOUBLE the number of lights we normally put on.

This time around, I felt like doing a red and white theme.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Costco has great deals on ribbon so I usually pick up a roll every 2-3 years.  About 60 METERS for 8 bucks.  Can’t beat it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I bought some red and white ribbon and used most of it on the tree, making “bows” every so often.  The rest went onto the garland by the ceiling at each end of the main room, with big bows in the middle.  The ribbon has wire in it too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here she is!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You may notice the full sized sheets of paper near the bottom…

Sadie made them.  They’re ornaments.  She even tore a hole at the top to poke the branch through, then reinforced it with tape.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Too cute.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I left them up over Christmas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hey, they were the right colours and everything!

I didn’t quite get around to finishing the tree skirt I started, so one of my old curtains and a white tablecloth stood in instead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Darryl likes lots of coloured lights at Christmas, so I told him to go all out on the outside of the house.  What did he pick?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Red and white.

There’s a string of mini coloured lights on the coop.

Next year I might try something a little different with the theme.  Like getting away from the different combinations of red, green, white and gold.  But I’m not going to tell you now.  I’m going to keep you hanging until next Christmas.  Haha!

That way, if I change my mind and go with something typical, you’ll never know what you missed.

I have it all figured out.

One thought on “My 2012 Christmas Tree”

Leave a Reply

