Furniture Swapping

Sometimes you just need a change.

In my case, I wanted to see what it would be like to move Sadie’s red dresser into our red bedroom and let Sadie use our taller, dark wood dresser.

It took about an hour to unpack everything from both dressers, move them (clean the floor and walls behind them), and repack most of the stuff.  It was a great opportunity to chuck a bunch of un-needed things too.

I can’t show you a picture right now cause the kids are napping.  It wasn’t a groundbreaking change.  But it was enough.  We have more floor space in our room now, and so does Sadie.  Go figure.  The change table with the wicker drawers became my side table.  The old apple box that was my side table stacked up with Darryl’s apple box (only sideways instead of vertically) to make it a bit higher, and he also has more storage space now.  I moved a couple lamps around and now it’s brighter in there.  The red dresser is in front of the window and it blends in so well with the walls that it almost disappears, making the room feel bigger. I put the changing mat on top of the dresser.  All the rearranging displaced my rocking chair, which was stuck in the corner by my bed for lack of a better place to store it.  Now it’s in the living room so I remember to sell it as soon as possible.  I like it and it’s comfortable, but I’d rather see more floor than have furniture crowded everywhere.  That makes me crazy.

I sold something else already though.

My couch and loveseat!

I had to make room for this.

And this (my old red chair is now in the pile waiting to go to the dump).

These were GIVEN to us by Darryl’s Aunt Margaret (Thank you!!!).  They are much more our style and very comfortable.  Not that the other set wasn’t comfortable.  Quite the contrary.  We just like the looks of these new ones better.

So right now, all three couches and the chair are in my living room until this afternoon when the old set is being picked up.  I sold them for $180.  You may (or may not) remember that I paid $50 for them last year.  I would call that a good return on my investment.  Hee hee.  I only just put the ad up late last night, and this morning someone came to look at it.

Now I have to figure out how to rearrange the bookshelves because the new couch won’t fit between the piano and the bookshelf (I measured).

I’m going to put the chair where the loveseat is now.

I had to move the radio cabinet with the TV back to the corner by the kitchen to make room for the couch and chair, and I think I’m going to leave it there for a bit longer.  I didn’t like having it in front of the windows, but it was the best option at the time.  I also adjusted something else.  Can you tell what it is?  (nope, it’s not the tassels)

Don’t worry if you couldn’t.  It’s not that noticeable, especially if you’ve hardly been to my house before.

I moved the curtains up about 6 inches.  They were skimming the top of the window trim.  Here’s what they looked like before (this was back in March).

And now…

Not a huge difference, but they do make the ceiling look higher.

I should have done that ages ago.  Like when I put the rod up in the first place.

This is the best example of why you want to hang ’em high (and wide–not an option for me cause the rod was too short).

I found the picture here.

See how it tricks your eye into thinking the window is huge, even though they’re the same size?

Anyway, I’ll show you the new living room arrangement when I figure it out.

Do you move furniture around to try something different or does everything stay where you put it the first time?

3 thoughts on “Furniture Swapping”

  1. Looks like some nice changes. Usually our space gets locked in because the sectional isn’t very versatile in terms of arrangement. It only fits nicely in one place. Even at the farm it could only go on one wall if I didn’t want it in the middle of the room.

Leave a Reply

