Growth

The weather finally got nice.  It was pretty cold for the last week, but yesterday felt almost like summer.  I worked up a sweat just from light work like raking and scooping up the piles.  Maybe that’s just because I was out of shape.  But, whatever.  It was hot.

Now I’m dreading summer.

But my plants are looking forward to it!  I have a few little sprouts in the greenhouse, and a few volunteers in the garden already.  Like this oregano.

And chives.

And a pansy.  I love it when annuals seed themselves!

My solitary garlic clove poked it’s head out of the ground too.

I still have a lot of work to do in the garden.  I raked the paths to smooth out the vole hills and pulled last year’s dead tomato and pea vines out and tossed them in the compost pile.

I still need to bring some compost into each bed, then cover them with wood chips.  But the longer I wait, the warmer the soil will get.  And that will be a good thing for my warm-weather-loving tomatoes and peppers.

The yard is mostly raked now.  The grass is coming up nice and green, albeit a little thin.  I’m working on a fence to keep the girls out, but I’ll show you that another day.

The pasture grass is coming in nice and thick though, especially in the areas we spread compost!  A couple of pickup loads of manure we took out last spring spent a year thinking about itself, and became the nicest compost I’ve made yet.  And I wasn’t even trying.

I found a method for making compost out of horse manure in one month, so I’m trying it (but adding a couple weeks to make sure it works).  I need to turn the pile over this week and let it sit another 2-3 weeks, and it should be ready for the garden, if the garden can wait that long.  Otherwise it’ll go to some parts of the pasture that need help.  I still have chicken compost if I need it for the garden.

Lots to do, but it’s sure nice to see things growing!

Leave a Reply

