Quick Change

I woke up this morning and I just hated everything.

(Name that movie)

Ok, it wasn’t that dramatic (or this morning.  Try last week.) but with spring around the corner (or several corners) I was wishing my living room was a bit brighter.  This room suffers from a complete lack of outdoor light, other than the intense spotlight of sunshine beaming in through the kitchen skylight at certain times of the year.  When there’s actually sun.  And then all it does is heat up the spot on the floor.  It doesn’t share light to the rest of the room, which is still shrouded in darkness.

Anyway, there are 2 side-by-side windows overlooking the covered porch that have had nice red drapes I made shortly after we moved in, but since that was almost 3 years ago and I’m female they had been too dark for too long, I HAD to change them.

Here’s what my drapes looked like before.  Sorry about the Christmas shot.  It was the best I could find.

Here’s what they look like now!

I got the urge to make these about 6 hours before a bunch of my friends were coming over for my birthday party.  I had an extra white king-sized sheet that I got from the thrift store for $2, originally for a crocheted rug, but I can always get another one for $2.  They always have lots of white sheets in stock.  I cut it across the middle so the top and bottom hems (which were identical) could be the inside seams of each panel.  I had to hem the other side of each panel, then fold over the top and make a pocket for the rod.  So 2 seams on each panel.  I didn’t pin or iron anything (as you can tell from the photo), and I didn’t hem the bottom either.  If I get tired of the puddling on the floor, I can slip them off and hem them easily, but I like them for now.

I might still add a strip of green or red grosgrain ribbon down the inside seam of each panel, just to add some interest and colour.

It definitely lightens up the room a bit.

This is how I plan to finish the two 8 foot windows in the addition when it gets finished.  One day.  But let’s not talk about that.

 

Note: Yesterday when I posted this, I tried doing a little rollover trick where the picture would change if you roll your mouse over it.  I copied a code that was supposed to do this and inserted it with the correct URL’s for each photo, and it worked!  Until I published it.  After a lot of frustrated research where many people said it wasn’t possible in WordPress, I gave up.  I need a better understanding of HTML code, and apparently Javascript and CSS too.  That’s not exactly what I signed up for.  Ugh.

Oh, and the creepy photo I was telling you about (in case you saw this post yesterday) is shown here.  Totally loses it’s creepy effect when it’s shown this way.  But it’s still a goofy picture at least.

4 thoughts on “Quick Change”

  1. On “name that movie”,oh gosh I just saw it and it’s driving me crazy. Please tell me. For some reason I keep seeing Angelina Jolie.Thank you.LOL

Leave a Reply

