Better Than Storebought

I’ve been working on this for a few weeks now.

I started with a cup and a half of water and added a teaspoon of ground ginger and a teaspoon of sugar.  Actually, that was the first attempt that I ended up throwing out cause I thought I killed it.  I tried it again with the addition of a pinch of yeast and that seemed to work well.  I fed it every day with more ginger and sugar and it produced little bubbles every day.

After a week, I strained out the juice and added water, sugar and lemon juice to it.  Then bottled it and let it sit a couple more days on the counter, then put it in the fridge.  That slowed everything down so I pulled them back out and left the lids on for another day or two.  I had to crack the lids once in a while cause the fermentation process creates carbon dioxide.

But that’s the best part.  Have you guessed what it is yet?

It’s ginger beer!  Naturally fermented carbonated juice.  And it’s really good!  (and non-alcoholic, for those who are wondering)

I’m looking forward to making lots in the summer cause it’s really refreshing and fizzy.  And it’s not just carbonated sugar syrup like commercial pop!  Apparently you used to be able to buy ginger beer and it would be delivered just like your milk.

Once the starter is made, you can use it over and over.  I feed mine every day and I could make another batch of ginger beer every 2-3 days, but once a week is what I’m trying for right now.  I don’t think I could drink enough to make some every 3 days.  So far, we drank most of the first batch and gave some to the neighbour.  I have a bit left and the second batch should be ready pretty quick.  I’ll be making another batch on friday.  I think I’ll have to give away more.

Any takers?  (in my neck of the woods, obviously)  If you like it I could give you some starter to make your own or you could go here for directions to make your own starter.  It’s not hard at all!

Let me know if you try it!  And you have no reason not to!  It’s cheap and easy, just like my favourite recipes. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Better Than Storebought”

    1. I’m not an expert, but I’ve read that if it’s in a cooler location, it will take longer to make the starter. If it’s not working, try moving it to a warmer spot. Welcome to my blog!

Leave a Reply

