Homemade Yogurt The Easy Whey

So I don’t know about you, but when I’m online reading my favourite blogs I keep seeing recipes for homemade yogurt using a crock pot.  I tried making yogurt one time in a cooler and it kinda didn’t work.  It came out like sour cream, which was fine cause I use it all the time.  But I also had to heat up the milk and stir it and all that and I really liked the simplicity of the crock pot method.

I had to try it.

It really was easy.  You should try it too.  Here’s the recipe.

Basically, you pour in the milk (store-bought, pasteurized is fine), cook it on low for a while, turn it off for a while, then mix in a bit of plain yogurt, then let it sit overnight.  EASY.

The first batch I made came out quite liquidy, maybe cause I used vanilla flavoured yogurt as a starter, who knows.  The second batch came out thicker, but I strained both batches cause we like it THICK.

My plan is to get a jelly bag to strain the yogurt but for now I use coffee filters.  Takes a while but it works.

All the liquid that drains out is whey.  You can use it for quite a few things and it’s very nutritious, but I’m just not quite crunchy enough to try most of them yet.  I’ve been trying to use it up though, so I substituted half the water in my bread recipe for whey, and used it for the liquid in biscuits the other day.  You don’t have to use as much whey as you would water or milk.  It makes dough runnier.  It changes the flavour ever so slightly and not in a bad way (whey…haha) at all.

Once the whey was drained out I got a full quart of thick yogurt from 1 gallon of milk.

Pasteurized milk is NOT good to drink but turning it into yogurt turns a bad product into something healthy again, and I’m all for that.

Try it.  It’s easy, yummy and cheap.

One thought on “Homemade Yogurt The Easy Whey”

  1. My brother had an elaborate method that involved microwaving the bowl then wrapping it in a down jacket overnight, which always intimidated me…the crockpot sounds way easier!

Leave a Reply

