Hand-Me-Downs

I actually made this shirt for Sadie a few months ago…I think just after Chad was born.  I finally remembered to take a picture of it before she outgrew it.

Most peasant top patterns I’ve seen are identical on the front and back, but Sadie had a cute dress with peasant-type sleeves and a collar that’s higher at the back than at the front, so I made a pattern out of it (two in fact…the first one was way off).

For the fabric, I wanted  something light and cool, and I ended up using Sadie’s Great Grandma’s pyjamas!

That’s why there’s a seam down the back…I ran out of pieces big enough to do both sides so I positioned an existing seam down the middle.

I also didn’t take the time to double check the elastic before I sewed up the neck casing and it was twisted!  I didn’t fix it.

But I still like it.

One thought on “Hand-Me-Downs”

Leave a Reply

