Baby Shower Gift

I went to a baby shower on Sunday for a friend from church.  We went to a restaurant and it was really fun hanging out without a lot of kids around (not counting the new baby and Hannah’s little girl).

I’ve been mulling over an idea for a baby shower gift for a while and I decided to try it.  I happen to have lots of jeans that don’t fit or aren’t fit to wear (I’ve been saving them up for another project for several years), so I cut out a few 4″ squares.

I made a stencil out of freezer paper and used (non toxic) silk screening paint to paint letters on some of the squares.

The paint didn’t cover the denim as thick as I thought it would but I like the result anyway.

I did all the painting the night before the shower while Darryl turned a few homemade tortillas into tortilla chips.  Yum!

The paint was supposed to take 24 hours to dry, but I figured since the paint made such a thin layer that I’d have time to heat set it the next morning before church (12 hours later) and cut them out and finish sewing after church.  I did all the other sewing I could on saturday, and then on sunday afternoon, I finished sewing the squares into blocks and made a box to put them in.

Fraying the edges by picking at threads took a while, but I’m pretty happy with the result.

Then a little wrapping with freezer paper (ha!) and a bit of denim later, and we were good to go!

She liked it and said it would match her boys’ room.

I think I’ll make some more and use other fabrics too.

 

One thought on “Baby Shower Gift”

Leave a Reply

