Homemade Pizza

So the other day I made some foccacia dough and added minced garlic and parmesan to it.  I cut it in three pieces…two big and one small…so I’d have two loaves and one pizza crust.  The loaves were baked that night but the pizza crust lump hung out  in the fridge for a couple days until I could get to it.

Well I got to it last night.

There were some random ingredients lurking in the fridge that needed to be used up, so they went on the crust.  Remember, this crust has garlic and parmesan mixed in.

First went some tomato sauce and a sprinkle of italian seasoning.

Then a thin slice of mediterranean chicken deli meat, broken into small pieces.

Then some leftover hamburger with taco seasoning on it.

Then some mushroom slices.

Then some diced red pepper and tomato.

Then some swiss cheese and a bit of feta.

Oh yum!  It was as good as the best take-out pizza we’ve ever had!  Maybe better!

It tasted reminiscent of a swiss mushroom burger, only much more decadent and gourmet, and without the slimy oily cheese oozing out of a nasty white-flour bun.  I think the bun ruins the taste of those burgers.

But the pizza was divine.

I didn’t get a picture, but I wanted to write it down somewhere so I can remember how to make it again.  You’ll just have to imagine how good it looks or make it yourself!  You can use any pizza crust you want, but I’d recommend making it thin.

One day I will post my foccacia bread recipe, though I think there are probably better ones out there.  This is the only one I’ve ever tried.

Now go make some pizza!

 

Leave a Reply

