Homemade Tortillas

Okay, I have a recipe that you must try tonight, or tomorrow.

I didn’t have any tortillas and I wanted some, so I looked online for a recipe until I found one that didn’t use lard.  Not because I’m against lard, but because I had used all mine up!  This one uses oil instead.  I used grapeseed oil because that’s what we use for everything.

Here’s the scoop:

Throw 3 cups of flour into a mixing bowl.

Mix in a teaspoon of salt.

Add 1/3 cup oil and 1 cup of warm water.

Mix together until it forms a dough.  Add a little flour if it’s too sticky.

ylBxM

Now separate a chunk about the size of a kiwi and roll it out as thin as you can get it and at least 10 inches in diameter (this measurement will change depending on the size of the dough you’re rolling out and how thin you get it.  It’s not rocket science…you can have variation).

If there’s enough flour, it should lift off the counter easily with your fingers.  Throw it in a dry frying pan (please don’t use teflon) on a medium heat.

tDQyO

Now if you’re fast, you’ll have just enough time to grab another hunk of dough and start rolling it out before you have to flip the first one.  Then finish rolling it out so it’s ready to go in the pan when the first one comes out.  It takes only a couple of minutes to cook.

I found that if you flip the tortilla a second time (so it’s back on the first side), it will puff up.  I don’t know if that’s a big no-no or not, but I did a couple times to make sure some of the edges were cooked.  It didn’t seem to affect them.

hWL6U

That’s about it.  Except try not to eat too many or you won’t have enough for dinner.

You know what?  Just go ahead and double the recipe and eat as many as you like.  You’ll work up a bit of a sweat rolling them out fast enough to keep the pan occupied.

This was my very first try.  Not perfect, but it got eaten too fast to even try rolling anything up in it.

r9rFA

Now they come out much nicer.  I made chicken and bean enchiladas with one batch and burritos with another.  Sooo good!

You simply must try it!

 

Leave a Reply

