Silly Aunt Roe

I had a lovely evening a few days ago (before we all caught colds and before the really hot weather).

The cilantro needed to be harvested, so I took Sadie out to the garden with me, and she made a mess with dirt while I picked.  We got a sink full.

A few minutes later, I looked up and there was a deer grazing by the chicken coop.

Me and Sadie watched her for a while.  We’ve seen her before on the property.  I don’t mind her as long as she stays out of my garden.

This was the view out my dining room windows.

It doesn’t do justice to the late afternoon sun.

This is some yarrow I’m drying because, to quote my herbal remedies book, “yarrow is one of the best known herbal remedies for fevers, the flu, stomachaches, sore throats and menstrual problems” (I’m not keeping it for menstrual problems, just the other ones).  It’s also good at stopping bleeding from wounds.

There’s lots of chicory growing along the side of the road around here too, but I have to dig the roots out so I might not get to it.  It’s got pretty blue flowers and it’s good for a digestive aid, appetite booster, headache reliever, inflammation remover and arthritic pain remedy.  Sounds like a good one to have around.

Then there’s plantain, chamomile, raspberry leaves, pine needles and alfalfa that I could harvest and dry for medicinal purposes.  Not to mention the pineappleweed that makes a nice tea.  It’s similar to chamomile.  Yup, I tried it.

Slowly, I want to collect more medicinal plants and learn more about them.  It’s my new hobby.  Kind of.

This is not one of my hobbies.

This is simply a necessity, but it makes my clothes look better and last longer, and keeps the house cooler, so to choose to use the machine would be ridiculous.

And in case you’re wondering what I plan to do with all that cilantro,

I use some of it in salads from the garden (spinach, beet greens, green onion and cilantro with feta cheese, salt, pepper, oil, and balsamic vinegar), and I chop the rest and freeze it.  The plants are due for another trim again.

And that’s a steak buried under the mushrooms.

You wouldn’t believe how little we spend on food while eating like this.  We try not to eat carbs in the evening cause we feel better that way…the corn is a once-in-a-while side dish.

I could talk your ear off about eating well and watching for hidden ingredients and avoiding poisons (not that we’re perfect…we love reese’s peanut butter bars…on ice cream), but I think I’ll save that for another post in the far far far distant future.

Like when I’m done breastfeeding.

And homeschooling.

And when I’m retired.

If I ever retire.

Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

