The Colour White

I started a collection of white dishes.

I don’t really like a lot of white in my house, but I need a reference point for all the other colours so off-whites and ivorys don’t start looking like dingy white.  I have black in every room for the same reason.  You need to see both black and white so the other colours look true to your eye.  With no black in a room, the darkest colour becomes the black and it makes the other colours on the room look dull.

Anyway, I’ve had my eye on this white jug for a while.

1POu9

It’s at Walmart for $10 but I’m too cheap to pay full price for something I don’t NEED.

My patience paid off.

JshA3

I got it for $4.99 at Value Village.  Half price will do.

I know it looks like I like white in these pictures since the jug and the table and the chair are all white, but you can see part of a green chair on the far right.  It doesn’t look like a lot of white in the room as a whole.

There’s also red and green, which don’t actually make a room look like christmas unless they’re actual christmas decorations.  I use red and green together all the time.  They look good together cause they’re on opposite sides of the colour wheel.

nPjy2

My kitchen is mostly tan or cheesy wood-looking stuff with red, green and white as accent colours.  It’s fresh and colourful and seems to work in every season but fall.  Then I have to add grasses and leaves and root crops and it’s good to go.

These dishes were on sale at Canadian Tire a couple years ago so I snagged them.  It’s a service for twelve.

thldz

They’re actually white too, not pinky-orange like the picture.  Bad editing on my part, sorry.

See how your eye can trick you into seeing that plate as white?  Compare it to the white background and you’ll see how off it is.  If you can see pinky-orange as white, you’ll see the lightest colour in your room as white and base all the other colours off of that instead of an actual white colour.

(I realize there are many different shades of white, but that topic is beyond the scope of this discussion)

(Or maybe I don’t feel like talking about that right now cause it’s way too nice outside)

(Take your pick)

Leave a Reply

