Out with the old, In with the new

It’s raining.  Sadie’s sleeping.  The house is (basically) clean.  If you don’t count the bathrooms.  Or the front closet.   Or the bedrooms.

I should be starting some bread, but I’m on a break.  Hard workers deserve breaks.  It gives me a chance to relax and enjoy my “clean” house, even if it’s only the part I can see.

I have a bunch of stuff to catch you up on, but I’m going to do it in pieces.

Here’s the first one.

I don’t know if I told you but we were given a truck.  It’s the same as our Old Ugly Beast that I actually never took a picture of (and even if I did, it wouldn’t be on here) only it has an extended cab and 4 wheel drive!  It also has a few other perks that are a step up from the Old Ugly Beast, like 5 speeds, a box liner, bucket seats, exterior paint, a tachometer, power windows, and glow plugs that work.  Yay!  No more popping the hood, wrestling with the air intake cover (at the back of the engine, of course) and spraying ether into it, then running back to the cab to start it up and watching it belch clouds of black smoke for ten minutes.

Now we’re doing our part for the environment.

Not that we weren’t doing anything before.

Not that anything we do will make a lick of difference in the earth’s lifespan.  That’s out of our hands.

Anywho, I have deemed the New Truck worthy of sharing with you, my esteemed reader, so here’s a few photos.

Az6ea

I know, I know…if the New Truck looks like this, what on earth did the Old Ugly Beast look like!?!

It wasn’t pretty.

Trust me.

This one’s better.

etj9r

And it’s still a diesel.  Which just means that we can idle it for hours without feeling guilty.

Cause diesels like to idle for hours.  They go through less fuel that way.

iAksM

It makes it up our (flat) driveway now, once you lock the hubs in.

Though this winter we never needed it.  Figures.

WacwR

The extended cab is nice cause now all Darryl’s junk equipment fits in the back seat instead of at my feet.  Even Sadie’s car seat fits overtop of all his stuff.  And I get my own huge seat all to myself!  In the Old Ugly Beast, I sat in the middle with my legs contorted over to one side, and everything I needed for the day on my lap.

This truck actually did get washed last week, but it’s that time of year when the world’s all in mud, and every sound you hear seems to be rain.

Sorry.

I’ll stop now.

Leave a Reply

