All in a day’s work

Even though I slept in until 9:00 this morning (Sadie’s such a great sleeper–over 11 hours again last night), I’ve managed to get quite a bit done today, if making 7 loaves of bread counts.

pa050111

I had to make bread today cause the last loaf from the previous batch is almost gone, and since I was making bread anyway, I thought to myself, “Hey, I should make banana bread too”.  It’s been on my to-do list to use up the 56 black bananas that are taking up room in my freezer, so I did.  I doubled the recipe (cause there’s no point going to all that trouble for one little loaf) and made 3 loaves.  Don’t ask me how that works out.

pa050107

Hold on, I’m gonna go get another slice.

pa050108

Mmmm…

I used these big bread pans I got from my dad that have 4 pans attached together.  Makes me feel like a real baker when I use them.  My normal bread recipe (doubled, of course) makes 4 loaves so it works out.

I’LL probably need to work out before I’m finished this post.

By the way, if you avoid making homemade bread because it dries out so fast, package each loaf in a brown paper bag, then a plastic bag.  It’s slightly more annoying to open and close two bags to get the bread out, but it’ll stay nice and moist all week.  I freeze loaves that way too and they taste like they were just made.

On a totally different topic, This is what I’ve been getting out of my garden lately.p92100111

Mostly tomatoes.  I use a lot of canned diced tomatoes in my cooking so I’m chopping up all the tomatoes I get from my garden and freezing them.  The 8 tomato plants I have (they cost me only $0.25/each!) are only half finished ripening and I’ve got the equivalent of about 35 cans of diced tomatoes!  I also made a couple of tomato salads for various potlucks and about a quart of pico de gallo salsa.

Sometimes I get weird tomatoes.

p9300100

p9300104

You didn’t think I’d be able to resist that, did you??

Hubby bought me some plastic for my future greenhouse.  I’m using it to protect my precious tomatoes until they finish ripening, but I think I’ll have to pull up the plants in a few weeks because it’s getting a lot colder at night.  We had one light frost so far and it gets up to a balmy 12 degrees during the day.  At least with the plastic on, I don’t have to water so often.

p9280062

Speaking of growing, look what Sadie can do.

p9280034

p9280027

p9280030

p9280031

p9280033

p9280032

p9280035

p9280036

p9280037

Yayy Sadie!!

p92800382

Okay, I only had three pieces of banana bread, and they’re only half the size of my normal bread.  So that’s only 1.5 slices.  Smothered in butter of course.

 

Leave a Reply

