Crabby Jelly Update

Okay, I followed the recipe exactly and added the full amount of sugar, but the jelly wasn’t sheeting like it was supposed to so I added three boxes of pectin in succession and still nothing happened!
I got tired of trying and bottled it all. It partially set to the consistency of half-set jello or really runny eggs. It’s so yummy on toast that I would probably try again. Next year.
The first time I tried it I gave the pulp to the horse and the chickens and the dog.

 

This time I ran it through a strainer and made applesauce. Pink applesauce! Yum yum. I’ll never give away the pulp again until I’ve made applesauce from it. The animals will never know the difference. Hee hee.

Leave a Reply

