Cheese!

After trying to order a cheesemaking kit online and finding out they don’t ship to individuals and the nearest distributor is in Duncan, BC, I kinda gave up for a few weeks.  All I needed to make mozzarella was rennet, so I called around to every store I could think of and nobody even knew what rennet was.

On a whim, I looked up U Brew stores online where you make your own wine and beer.

They carried cheese kits too.  And rennet.

Huh.

Since all I needed was rennet, I got a kit that makes 8 different kinds of cheese, and it comes with rennet tablets.  I can get more from the store when I run out.

IMAG1339

I just happened to have a whole lot of skimmed milk sitting around, so I started with a double batch of mozza.  2 gallons of skimmed milk, half a rennet tablet and some citric acid (which I already had).

I warmed up the milk with the citric acid, then added the rennet and let it sit for 5 minutes.

The curd had a clean break, so I cut it into 1 inch squares.

So far so good!

IMAG1340

Then I heated up the whey and drained the curds out through cloth.

I was thinking about letting it drip overnight and finishing the next morning, but I kinda just wanted to finish.  I followed the recipe for stretching the cheese using a salt water bath, since I don’t have a microwave and wouldn’t adulterate good food even if I did have one.  That’s where things started to get screwed up.

The brine got too hot and I couldn’t get all the cheese out of the pot at the same time using every utensil I could think of.  It was too soft.  I think it got a little too hot.  It stretched too quickly to grab more than a little lump.  Eventually it cooled down enough that I could fish out most of the larger pieces.

I ended up with a slimy lump of cheese.

Fail.

IMAG1341

I confess, I did try some.

It was like eating a slimy booger.

Not that I know what that’s like.  I just imagine it was like eating a slimy booger.

Really salty too.

Sooo…I had to try again.  I had a LOT more milk to use up.

The second batch went swimmingly like the first one, only this time I didn’t heat the water up so much for stretching it, and I didn’t put salt in the water.  I tried working it into the cheese after I stretched it like some recipes do.

This time it looked a lot better.

IMAG1345

But when I tried it, it had an okay texture, but absolutely no flavour.

I guess the working-salt-in-at-the-end method didn’t work so well.

Third time’s the charm right?

I made some more, and everything went quite well.  I used a salt water bath for stretching again, I just didn’t add as much salt as the first time.

It turned out quite nice, but could’ve used more salt.

Then I made it again, adding a bit more salt to the water.

Again, it could’ve used more salt, but it was almost just right.

It’s texture is just a bit rubbery though and I don’t know how to fix that.

I had to take a little break cause I ran out of citric acid, but now I have a 2 year stash so I should be good for a while.  Until I run out of rennet.

Maybe 5th time’s the charm in this case?

Hope so.

2 Responses to “Cheese!”


  1. 1 steph swinden April 23, 2013 at 6:24 am

    ahhh thats hilarious. it looks like banana pudding :D


Leave a Reply

Farmhands

Sadie

Chad

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Just a Note

Please do not use photos without permission or repost photos on facebook. You may share them by linking to the post or to the photo itself without permission though. Thanks!

Reader Favourites


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

